Critical Thinking Hallmark Of Common Core Class

Career College Central summary:

  • In 45 states and the District of Columbia, teachers are starting to use the standards to guide what skills students learn and when.
  • The Common Core State Standards are academic benchmarks that outline the skills a student should have at each level. For instance, third-graders should know how to find the perimeter of a figure. A fifth-grader should be able to compare and contrast two characters from a story.
  • The standards were created by the National Governors Association and the Council of Chief State School Officers to improve academic achievement and increase accountability. President Barack Obama and his administration embraced them.
  • That led critics to call the standards a national curriculum, or “Obamacore.” The standards are not a curriculum, despite the opponents’ claims. Each state, school or even teacher can determine how to help students reach those standards. Alaska, Texas, Nebraska and Virginia decided not to adopt them. Minnesota has adopted only the English standards.
  • At the core of the standards is a reduced emphasis on memorization. Students now have to connect the dots and apply critical thinking. It’s what experts call higher-order thinking. Teachers say it’s preparing students for life after high school.

Click through for full article content.


Leave a Reply

Be the First to Comment!

Notify of