HAYS POST: FHSU joins alternative-credit consortium for non-traditional students

Career College Central Summary:

  • Fort Hays State University has signed an agreement with ACE, the American Council on Education, to join 24 other colleges and universities in an alternative credit consortium as part of an innovative initiative to create a more flexible pathway toward a college degree for millions of nontraditional learners.
  • The 25 institutions serving in this pilot project have agreed to identify the criteria, quality and sources of potential alternative credit courses sought by students who successfully complete courses that are part of a selected pool of about 100 low-cost or no-cost lower division general education online courses.
  • “FHSU is built on providing access to quality learning experiences,” said Dennis King, director of the Virtual College and learning technologies. “Our involvement in this program will allow us to stay on the cutting edge of course design, delivery and articulation.”
  • The participating institutions represent four-year and two-year, public and private, non-profit and for-profit colleges and universities that have a strong commitment to access and attainment and serving nontraditional learners. They are:
  • American Public University; Capella University; Central Michigan University; Charter Oak State College; Colorado Community College System; Colorado Technical University; East Carolina University; Fayetteville State University; Goodwin College; John F. Kennedy University; Kaplan University; Lakeland College; Metropolitan State University of Denver; National Louis University; Northern Arizona University; Northwestern State University; Notre Dame College; SUNY Empire State College; Texas Woman’s University; Thomas Edison State College; University of Baltimore; University of Maryland University College; University of Memphis; University of North Carolina.

Click through to read the full article.


Leave a Reply

Be the First to Comment!

Notify of